Follow

How to use the Login feature

Déjà Vu X3 has a very simple project management system that allows you to specify that only certain users can access a project. If you receive a project that has this simple security system implemented, you use the Login link, found in the Account window, to enter the username and password for that project.

Though all editions of Déjà Vu X3 support this security system, only the Workgroup edition can be used to enable and configure it. This means that, while all the editions allow you to use the Login link to enter a username and password to work with a project, only the Workgroup edition can be used to create a project that requires a username and password to be entered.

This security system is simple, and local; it does not depend on any server, or centralized system, not even the TEAMserver. When you create a project using the Workgroup edition on Déjà Vu X3, you can use the Users tab of the Project Properties dialog to specify one or more usernames, and their passwords, that are allowed to open the project.

These usernames and passwords are stored in the project itself, though they are encrypted, so one cannot find out what they are simply by inspecting the project file. They are not stored anywhere else, so the only way to find out what username and password are necessary to open a security-enabled project is to ask the person who created that project to provide this information.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk